Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
The Seven Last Words of Christ

1 Introduzione
2 Pater, dimitte illis, non enim sciunt, quid faciunt
3 Amen dico tibi: hodie mecum eris in paradiso
4 Mulier, ecce filius tuus, et tu, ecce mater tua!
5 Eli, Eli, lama asabthani
6 Sitio
7 Consummatum est!
8 Pater! In manus tuas commendo spiritum meum
9 Il Terremoto
Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do
Verily, I say unto thee: Today Thou shalt be with me in Paradise
Woman, behold thy son- behold thy mother
My God , why hast thou forsaken me?
I thirst
It is finished
Father into thy hands I commend my spirit

Haydn described this work and the circumstances under which it was written with the following words:

"The walls, windows and columns of the Cathedral were covered in black cloth, a large solitary lamp hung in the centre lightening the religious darkness. At noon the Cathedral doors were closed and the music began. The Bishop ascended the pulpit, spoke one of the seven phrases (the work is incorrectly translated from the German and means "phrases" as opposed to "words") followed it with a commentary, descended from the pulpit and fell on his knees before the altar. At this moment the orchestra played. The Bishop ascended and descended 7 times and each time the orchestra played after his discourse.

My composition must be judged in this light. The task to produce 7 Adagios, each of which should last 10 minutes, without tiring the listener, was no mean one; and I soon found that I could not keep to this duration."